What’s Your Sentence?

Twitter has brought some incredible teaching ideas to me, but this one has to be my very favorite so far this school year.  Cara Cahill, also known as @CaraCahill is one incredible educator that I have been lucky enough to have met through Twitter. She did an activity with her class called, “What’s Your Sentence?” After seeing what her students did, I promptly stole the idea for my own and I could not be happier that I did.

We started by watching Daniel Pink’s video, asking the question, “What’s Your Sentence?”

Then we watched the responses to this question that came in from around the world. 

And finally we wrote our own sentences and created this video.

I was so proud of my students and what they created that I had to share. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “What’s Your Sentence?

  1. Jess – we are synch! I have been doing What’s my sentence with 8th grade for years. (Hope they don’t scoff at the redux when they are in 8th grade) D. Pink is great. Ss. appreciate his TED talk. Looks like your year is off to a fabulous start.

    • No way! I am glad I finally found such a great activity. I actually think it will be really neat for the kids to look back and see how their sentences have changed between 5th and 8th grade. By the time these 5th graders make it to you, hopefully I will still have the video link and they can watch themselves. How fun would that be?!?!

  2. Pingback: Seeing Them How They Want to be Seen | Crawling Out of the Classroom

Leave a Reply

