Rethinking Reading Goals: More Than Just a Number

I feel incredibly lucky and honored and proud to share the story of one of my former students as a part of the work that I am doing for the Heinemann Fellows.

Please read Reese’s story here in my blog post for the Heinemann Fellows to see the power of listening to our students, following them where they lead us, and understanding that reading goals set by teachers ONLY based on numbers can be detrimental to a child’s love of reading and to their reading development.

3 thoughts on “Rethinking Reading Goals: More Than Just a Number

  1. Pingback: My Top Blog Post of the Year is the One I Wish I Never Wrote | Crawling Out of the Classroom

  2. Pingback: Inquiry Circles: My One New Thing for the New Year | Crawling Out of the Classroom

  3. Pingback: The Best of Both Worlds: Honoring Student Voice While Also Covering the Curriculum in a Literacy Classroom | Crawling Out of the Classroom

Leave a Reply

