On Days Like These, I am So Grateful to be a Teacher

On days like these, I am so grateful to be a teacher.

On days when there seems to be more bad than good in this world. On days when my heart is heavy. On days when I am having a hard time explaining this world even to myself. On days when it seems like every decision made around me is a decision made for the wrong reasons. On days when things seem to be too hard.

On days like these, I am so grateful to be a teacher.

Because on days like these it often seems as if there is no reason left to hope. On days like these it often seems as if there is no point in continuing to try to do any good for the world. On days like these it seems best to crawl inside oneself and hide there while things around you fall apart.  On days like these it seems like it would be best to shut down.

On days like these, I am so grateful to be a teacher.

Because when everything around you starts to seem bad and wrong and unfair and unjust, sometimes all it takes is one step inside a classroom. Sometimes all it takes is twenty small faces looking towards you to show them which direction we are going to head. Sometimes all it takes is the comment of one child, one class, one group of children who still believe this world is good. Sometimes all it takes is witnessing one moment where a child chooses good over something else.

On days like these, I am so grateful to be a teacher.

Because when it is our job to help the children in front of us continue to see hope in hopeless situations, then we cannot help but see that hope ourselves.  When children look to us to help them understand the evils that exist in this world, then we cannot help but seek to understand them ourselves. When we are responsible for convincing the children sitting in front of us that they have the power to make this world a much better version of its current self, then we cannot help but start to believe that ourselves.

On days like these, I am so grateful to be a teacher.

Because on days like these, I allow myself to be sad and angry and a little bit hopeless. But then I know that Monday will come. And on Monday it will not just be about me, it will be about me and my students. And I am grateful for that because they truly make me better. Figuring out this world together makes me so much smarter than if I was trying to figure it out on my own. Braving this world together makes me so much more courageous than if I had to brave it on my own.

So on days like these, I am just so grateful to be a teacher.

2 thoughts on “On Days Like These, I am So Grateful to be a Teacher

Leave a Reply

